My Story

Beginning

( Part 1 )

I am a wife and also a mom of four wonderful children + a dog. There’s a lot going on in my life, and it’s very unpredictable. 

When I was young I thought (probably like most girls) that I would get married, I would have two children (preferably a boy and a girl), a job, and an apartment, unfortunately, on a mortgage. In time, maybe we could even buy a plot of land, build a house, and then live happily ever after, but… 

… it worked out differently. Yes, in part it was as I planned, but only in the beginning. While I was in college, I started working and decided to become independent. I bought an apartment (on a mortgage), and because it was new, I had to do everything from scratch. I worked 7 days a week, 13 hours a day for 2 shifts as a hostess at an advertising stand. There, I also met my current best friend Anna and many other valuable people who have played their part in my life. Some of them have become close to my heart and are still with me today, despite the distances that divide us and at the same time connect (Isia, Dorothy). Thus, the days were long, the nights were short, and it was like so for almost 5 years. (I will also describe this time someday 😉)

In the process, “He” came along. “He” means my current spouse. When I heard a question about my type of man, I always answered:

“Tall, well-built, with dark complexion, brown eyes and black hair. HE WILL NOT: drink alcohol, smoke cigarettes or have any other addictions. That’s what my husband will be like”.

My dream husband. Mine is exactly like that, well almost, with one small difference, he has blue eyes (and as he is tired they change to green 😳. I don’t know why this happens, I have the same eye colour all the time 🤔). As a bonus, I got a few more traits from him which make life easier, such as compatibility in most matters, and because of that, the furnishing of our homes is no problem, which is extremely important to me because I spend a lot of time in them 😁. Besides, we both love the mountains⛰, and we like to relax actively, thanks to this, with holidays, we also have no problem. 

And then it all started. 

I got married, we sold the apartment (on a mortgage), and moved to a studio apartment in the city centre for 57.93 ft, which we got from my parents. Yes, yes, as you can see, it isn’t large. Only 57.93 ft. This was our new place. Although from almost 164 ft to 57.93 ft is a difficult move, in our case, we have not yet managed to collect too many things. There was nothing to cry for. Small, tight, and most importantly without a mortgage! It can be said that we started with a clean slate. We did a renovation. We furnished it so that it was quite functional, and we moved in. Three months later, I gave birth to my first son. 

I’ll tell you, we lived pretty well. My husband had a good job, I did a good job as a wife and a mother; what to want more. 

A year passed. I got a call from a friend I used to work with on advertising. We didn’t hear from each other for a long time, so there was a lot to talk about. I learned that he lives in Ireland, and he lives well there. He asked if we would like to move there. I immediately said no way. You know what it’s like. You have an apartment, a well-paid, stable job, close to family and there is a language you know, so why change? He was stubborn. He called, he urged. He said, “Pack the guys and come.” I thought to myself, “Sure. Easy for you to say. Throw everything and go in the dark, without knowing the language, no cash, into the unknown with a small child. Crazy.” He didn’t give up. We decided that just in case, my husband will start learning English, it couldn’t hurt to try. And so his persuasion lasted for half a year. 

I personally believe that nothing happens without a reason. Everything has its purpose (but about that another time). 

The colleague called once again, and it was his triumphant time. He said to my husband, “Buy a ticket, come on the weekend, I arranged a job interview for you as a bartender.” The decision was that much easier now that the company my husband was working at was being taken over by another company and the terms of termination changed. On the other hand, it was difficult.  Exchange a managerial position for a bartender, in addition, in a foreign country, without knowing the language 🤔. 

Who would make that decision? Do you know someone like that? I didn’t know until that moment.

We said to ourselves, “OK. Let’s do it for our children. Let them have an easier start.” We bought a ticket to Ireland, for a job interview, without knowing the language, for half our monthly salary and only for the weekend. 

I’m afraid to think what you’re thinking now, but that’s what it was.

After 3 days of stay, my husband returned with the information that he got the job. How is this possible? As you can see, it is possible. But back then I didn’t know that. Imagine the family’s astonishment when they found out we were moving to Ireland. 

Upon his return, my husband gave a resignation, packed up, and flew back. My son and I arrived after 1.5 months, on Christmas Eve on December 24, 2006.

That’s when our journey began, which continues to this day.

Your,

Moment for You

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.